Painting of the Month

PM The Last Dance copy.jpg

The Last Dance

by Paula Martiesian

My technique, if I have one, is to put paint on and then take it off. Brush, rag, knife – it doesn’t matter. Whatever paint I put on, however I put it on, I almost always take it off. It’s as if I am unwilling to commit until I’ve tried every option, a time consuming and ultimately frustrating endeavor I call painting.

Each color I do put down presents a whole new series of choices. Each path I take has a seemingly infinite number of side paths I’m eager to explore. Every choice I do make influences old decisions, so I often have to go backwards and repaint something I thought I had finally nailed down.

Not too long ago I found myself sitting in a Boston gallery next to a dear painter friend. I listened as she lamented her growing inability to tell the difference between one of her successful paintings and one that was a complete failure. I had nothing to offer her as I felt the same way.

.

4 comments

      1. You know, I have a feeling it mostly applies to women artists. We seem to have a deeper sensitivity and emotional connection with our work, and tend to question it and ourselves more. It’s that damned “imposter Syndrome” that affects women far more than men. I constantly have to work really hard to shake it. Makes me feel better to be in such good company, though…

        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impostor_syndrome

        “Despite external evidence of their competence, those exhibiting the syndrome remain convinced that they are frauds and do not deserve the success they have achieved. Proof of success is dismissed as luck, timing, or as a result of deceiving others into thinking they are more intelligent and competent than they believe themselves to be. Some studies suggest that impostor syndrome is particularly common among high-achieving women.[2]”

        Like

  1. For me, an only child raised as both a girl and boy (yellow walls, no pink, all girls school), this has never been an issue. I draw the widest circle I can and slowly make my way to the middle. It’s frustrating and crazy, but it’s the way I have always worked. It’s just as I get older and more aware, the circle just gets bigger…….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

